One month in Russia!

It’s amazing how much the weather here influences my mood. If I had written this post two days ago, when it had been over two weeks since I’d seen the sun, the tone would have been entirely different, more along the lines of “well, I made it through February, things can only get better from here.” But then I walked out the door Monday morning and the sun was shining and birds were chirping and suddenly things weren’t quite so bleak anymore. And then today it was sunny again! And I discovered that my room gets afternoon sunlight! And the days are slowly, but surely, getting longer. The sunrise today was 9:06, and it stayed light until almost 7:30. We’ll be at 12 hours of sunlight in no time!

As the title of this post suggests, I have now been in St. Petersburg for an entire month.I thought by this point I would have things together, but I’m still basically taking things one day at a time. I do have an interview for and English-teaching position later this week, so that should be interesting, and I’ve also finally found a gym that I like and am signing up for a membership there tomorrow, so I guess I’m settling in more than I think I am. I still feel like a tourist most of the time though. 

Goals for my second month in Russia: 

  • visit an anti-cafe
  • make at least one Russian friend outside of my host family
  • take a day trip or two out of the city (this will have to wait until I get my new visa, however.) 
  • get a library card
  • hold Masha (the baby)
  • find the Чижик-Пыжик statue and drop a coin on it
  • read one of the Russian children’s books Larisa lent me
  • go to the opera and/or ballet
  • successfully give someone directions when they ask me on the street
  • remember to take my camera with me and actually take pictures with it. 

That’s all I can think of for now. There are a bunch of specific museums I want to visit, but I’m planning on hitting most of them up with my dad when he comes to visit at the end of March!! 

До скорого! 

Leave a Reply

