How I became the problem

So today I was going to get up early and head out to Tula to visit Tolstoy’s estate at Yasnaya Polyana… but I managed to come down with a cold and woke up this morning feeling like death. So I have postponed my visit until tomorrow, and will somehow brave the predicted thunderstorms in the name of literary pilgrimage.

Anyway, last weekend I went and spent a whirlwind 48 hours in Tbilisi, which was wonderful. The only thing I don’t miss about it is the heat. But I caught up with friends, ate my fill of cherries and khachapuri, and had a great time wandering around the familiar city. When I was talking with April, my friend and travel companion from last summer, she reminded me of our motto on our various excursions: Food-Based Goals. As long as you are working your way towards the eventuality of something delicious, you can do anything, and will probably have an amazing time! This is a sort of round-about introduction to the story of one of my own food-based goals in Russia: finding curry powder. The following is a Snapchat novella that I created a few weeks ago. (Some context: Russians, I have found, love to add sour cream (smetana) to things, which I may have made fun of in the past.)

IMG_1314 IMG_1315IMG_1316IMG_1317IMG_1318IMG_1319IMG_1320IMG_1321IMG_1322IMG_1323IMG_1324IMG_1325IMG_1326

2 thoughts on “How I became the problem

Leave a Reply

